x
Wilder Girls

Wilder Girls

Taschenbuch, Sprache: Englisch
-9%4 UVP: 16,00 €4
14,50 €
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Vergleich zu UVP4

Reduzierte Artikel in dieser Kategorie


Produktdetails  
Verlag Penguin Random House
Auflage 2020
Seiten 400
Format 14,1 x 21,1 x 2,2 cm
Gewicht 339 g
Artikeltyp Englisches Buch
ISBN-10 0525645616
EAN 9780525645610
Bestell-Nr 52564561EA

Produktbeschreibung  

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

"The perfect kind of story for our current era." Hypable

Featured in Vulture s "11 Books to Read If You Already Miss Yellowjackets"!

From the author of Burn Our Bodies Down, a feminist Lord of the Flies about three best friends living in quarantine at their island boarding school, and the lengths they go to uncover the truth of their confinement when one disappears. This fresh debut is a mind-bending novel unlike anything you've read before.

It's been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put under quarantine. Since the Tox hit and pulled Hetty's life out from under her.

It started slow. First the teachers died one by one. Then it began to infect the students, turning their bodies strange and foreign. Now, cut off from the rest of the world and left to fend for themselves on their island home, the girls don't dare wander outside the school's fence, where the Tox has made the woods wild and dan gerous. They wait for the cure they were promised as the Tox seeps into everything.

But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie beyond the fence. And when she does, Hetty learns that there's more to their story, to their life at Raxter, than she could have ever thought true.

And don't miss Rory Power's second novel, Burn Our Bodies Down!

Praise for Wilder Girls:

4 STARRED REVIEWS!

"Take Annihilation, add a dash of Contagion, set it at an all-girls' academy, and you'll arrive at Rory Power's occasionally shocking and always gripping Wilder Girls."--Refinery29

"This thrilling saga...is sure to be one of the season's most talked-about books, in any genre."--EW

"Fresh and horrible and beautiful....readers will be consumed and altered by Wilder Girls."--NPR

Rezension:

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

"Power's evocative, haunting, and occasionally gruesome debut will challenge readers to ignore its bewitching presence." Booklist, starred review

"This gritty, lush debut chronicling psychological and environmental tipping points...weaves a chilling narrative that disrupts readers' expectations through an expertly crafted, slow-burn reveal of the deadly consequences of climate change....Part survival thriller, part post-apocalyptic romance, and part ecocritical feminist manifesto, a staggering gut punch of a book." Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"An ode to empowering women and a testament to the strength of female bonds....Far more than just an unsettling horror story, this powerful debut novel about a strange disease at an all-girls boarding school explores female empowerment, friendship and survival with tenacity and brilliance." Shelf Awareness, starred review < br>
Electric prose, compelling relationships, and visceral horror illuminate Power s incisive debut...[and its] environmental and feminist themes are resonant, particularly the immeasurable costs of experimentation on female bodies, and the power of female solidarity and resilience amid ecological and political turmoil. Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Tightly coiled narration moves between quietly reserved to vividly but coldly detailed, doubling the horror." Bulletin

"Your new favorite book." Cosmopolitan

Everything about this thrilling, unnerving debut will make you want to immediately read it. For fans of Mindy McGinnis and Gillian French. Paste

Wilder Girls is so sharp and packs so much emotion in such wise ways. I m convinced we re about to witness the emergence of a major new literary star. Jeff VanderMeer, author of the New York Times bestseller Annihilation

"Wilder Girls is the bold, imaginative, emotionally wre nching horror novel of my dreams one that celebrates the resilience of girls and the earthshaking power of their friendships. An eerie, unforgettable triumph." Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

A nightmarish survival story that s as much literary fiction as it is young adult...I couldn t look away." Casey McQuiston, New York Times bestselling author of Red, White, and Royal Blue

"The eeriness of Raxter Island permeates every scene, and Rory Power's characters are fierce and honest, blazing from the pages. This is a groundbreaking speculative story brutal and beautiful, raw and unflinching. I adored this book." Emily Suvada, author of This Mortal Coil

"A feminist, LGBT+, sci-fi-horror story with all the tantalizing elements of gore, mystery, war, and love you can ask for. Real, flawed, brave girls against a world gone mad. A shudderingly good read! Dawn Kurtagich, author of Teeth in the Mist

Mehr Angebote zum Thema  

Verpasse keine Highlights & Aktionen. Jetzt zum Newsletter anmelden.

Wenn Sie unseren Newsletter abonnieren, willigen Sie damit ein, dass Ihre E-Mail Adresse gespeichert und gemäß Art. 6 Abs. 1 a) DSGVO verarbeitet wird. Einzelheiten zur Speicherung und Nutzung Ihrer Daten finden Sie unter Datenschutz und Datensicherheit. Zur Optimierung unseres Angebots werten wir in anonymisierter Form aus, wie viele Links in unserem Newsletter angeklickt werden. Diese Auswertung lässt keinen Rückschluss auf Ihre Person oder sonstige Ihrer Daten zu und wird nicht mit anderen personenbezogenen Daten oder Bestelldaten verbunden. Die Auswertung der Klickzahlen erfolgt allein zu statistischen Zwecken.
Eine Abmeldung ist jederzeit über einen Link am Ende jeden Newsletters möglich.
1 Mängelexemplare sind Bücher mit leichten Beschädigungen wie angestoßenen Ecken, Kratzer auf dem Umschlag, Beschädigungen/Dellen am Buchschnitt oder ähnlichem. Diese Bücher sind durch einen Stempel "Mängelexemplar" als solche gekennzeichnet. Die frühere Buchpreisbindung ist dadurch aufgehoben. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den gebundenen Preis eines mangelfreien Exemplars.

2 Mängelexemplare sind Bücher mit leichten Beschädigungen wie angestoßenen Ecken, Kratzer auf dem Umschlag, Beschädigungen/Dellen am Buchschnitt oder ähnlichem. Diese Bücher sind durch einen Stempel "Mängelexemplar" als solche gekennzeichnet. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den ehemaligen gebundenen Preis eines mangelfreien Exemplars.

3 Die Preisbindung dieses Artikels wurde aufgehoben. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen gebundenen Ladenpreis.

4 Der Preisvergleich bezieht sich auf die unverbindliche Preisempfehlung, wie diese vom Hersteller oder von einem Lieferanten zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

5 Diese Artikel haben leichte Beschädigungen wie angestoßenen Ecken, Kratzer oder ähnliches und können teilweise mit einem Stempel "Mängelexemplar" als solche gekennzeichnet sein. Der Preisvergleich bezieht sich auf die unverbindliche Preisempfehlung, wie diese vom Hersteller oder von einem Lieferanten zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

6 Der Preisvergleich bezieht sich auf die Summe der Einzelpreise der Artikel im Paket. Bei den zum Kauf angebotenen Artikeln handelt es sich um Mängelexemplare oder die Preisbindung dieser Artikel wurde aufgehoben oder der Preis wurde vom Verlag gesenkt oder um eine ehemalige unverbindliche Preisempfehlung des Herstellers. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis. Der jeweils zutreffende Grund wird Ihnen auf der Artikelseite dargestellt.

7 Der gebundene Preis des Buches wurde vom Verlag gesenkt. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen gebundenen Preis.

8 Sonderausgabe in anderer Ausstattung, inhaltlich identisch. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den Vergleich Originalausgabe zu Sonderausgabe.

9 Der Preisvergleich bezieht sich auf den Originalpreis eines neuen Exemplares.

Alle Preisangaben inkl. gesetzlicher MwSt. und ggf. zzgl. Versandkosten.